Heartbeat by Childish Gambino

His name appeared and I was automatically thrown into the passenger side of my best friends beetle.

“I wanted you to know that I am ready to go…”

We’re speeding down the FDR, my favourite drive in New York City, filming the whole thing, this song blasting in the background on z100,

“My heartbeat, my heartbeat…”

Boogie down Bronx, Pepsi cola sign, Randall’s island, night sky, Brooklyn bridge, Grand Street (reminds me of Matt & Kim every time), green terrace on the overhead bridge, flashing lights, light trails, street lights, headlights, break lights, city of lights, boats cruisin’,

“I can’t sleep, I can’t sleep…”

Times Square, Forever 21, “so tell me what’s your favourite colour”, a $90 round trip ticket, peacock headband, the beautiful man behind the counter, “I couldn’t find you guys”, that diner with the decadent pastries, my, my metrocard, the subway, we meet back up.

“Leave you alone like the way you left me…”

Our hostel in Williamsburg, the terrace, the Manhattan skyline “I never want to go back to Times Square again”, pizza delivery mishaps, the ask.

Leave a Reply

