Low by Flo Rida feat. T-Pain

Yesterday I was driving home from the Y and for some reason I had the imagery of Naomi and I running out of the Subway in Menomenie, Wisconsin. Naomi with a folded up cut-out of their spokesperson, Jarad, and me in my pink fucking boots.

I couldn’t stop laughing.

I hadn’t heard the song since 2008, so I put this song on and let the memories flow.

“She had them apple bottom jeans, boots with the fur…”

Falling under the sign we stole all the Obama posters from, “all I could see were two legs sticking out and those pink fucking boots!”, Jable, the movie poster, Waukesha’s at the Best Western, 37 wet floor signs later, riding around in that damn Pinto sized car, late night shenanigans caused by a snow storm,

“Shawty got low, low, low, low…”

Passing out in the hallway of that cat urine piss ratchet motel, “the refreshing smell of home”, running away to Stevens Point’s room, the bible passages and cuddle sessions, that ladder holding up the ceiling,

“She hit the floor…”

That vending machine situation, the wop party, Richland Center, drunk dials, snowed in, an entire bottle of vodka later.

This was the time in our lives when we drove 5 hours to the other side of the state for conferences and would always end up stuck and drunk because of snow fury.

Leave a Reply

