California Love by Tupac

I was reading a post by Serena Sinclair about her trip to Oregon the other day. Today I was going through and saw I hadn’t responded to a comment from her, so I went to the post and wrote back right away! Once I started writing though, the memories all came flooding back from the various road trips from Eugene to San Francisco. It inspired this post and when I thought back to that time, this was the first song that popped in my head.

“Now lemme welcome e’rybody to the wild, wild west…”

Hot rod, 2012 black Dodge Charger, sleek and sexy, that rental car that everyone wanted a ride in, a week to myself, the first ventures to that sunshine state, every song that mentions the name, photographs of the future forever in our hearts a sign of the times, desert sunshine, orange groves, Mt. Shasta, the dam, the copper bridge over blue reflections in an orange canyon, any particular order,

“From Oakland to Sac-town, the Bay Area and back down…”

Fluorescent dreams woven in painted streets, burritos around the downtown sort, a full house of ladies, zumiez along the Haight-Ashbury district, the peacock, Captain America and his glow bright goggles, they can find me in the bookstore buying journals, they can find me in the art store buying glitter, I’ll be damned if they find me anywhere else,

“Cali is where they put their mack down…”

Redwoods on each side, glimmer leaves, “where the fuck is the coast??”, the frustration finds me lost, the coast finds me frightened, a deadly speed limit, we found oceanside selfies, stop in a small village, luncheon with an old neighbour, he buys lunch, I buy my one way ticket to ride [where the fuck is I-5??], zooming across those hilltops, the mountains fly by on a 90 mph magical carpet ride, zoom zoom ZOOOOM!

“Gimme love!”

7 thoughts on “California Love by Tupac

Leave a Reply

