A Fuller Landscape

FullSizeRender (3)

Last night I had a dream about the last guy I dated. He returned to Wisconsin with another girl even though he planned this trip with me and his friends. Then we boarded some bus to Maceio, Brazil that was rented out just for all of his friends and he never sat anywhere near me. He never even spoke to me.

Then I realized, I can leave once the bus stops, buy my own bed in a hostel and have my own trip. Suddenly I was fine again because I realized a way out of the situation and that I’m in control. Also I realized I didn’t pay for this trip at all so it didn’t matter, I wasn’t losing anything and finally, I realized he had one really nice friend, he’s the one I should be dating, the guy that cares.

I woke up and my back pain was gone and I felt like I’d finally purged all this bad energy from my life. It was all because of a conversation I had with a friend last night about seeing situations from the other persons perspective and this dream that made me see things in a different manner.

So I pose the question to everyone, what’s a situation in your own life where you maybe need to have new eyes?

 

6 thoughts on “A Fuller Landscape

  1. B says:

    I have anxiety issues and every day I’m constantly challenging myself to try and change the way I feel by looking at things from a different perspective. Asking questions like, “what’s the worst that can happen?” or “what am I really afraid of?” allows me to reframe some of the thoughts that cause me to worry. It’s definitely not easy, but it can be an incredibly positive experience! Everyone going through a similar thing should read this post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Disco Lemonade says:

      Thank you for sharing 💚 it’s definitely a battle sometimes. I used to face perspective changes a lot when I would come home from college or long trips, I would always think everyone’s different now and then my mama put things into perspective for me. She said, “Libby, when everyone around you is different, it’s likely that you’re the one that changed.” Sometimes we focus so much on others and other situations that we forget to focus on the one thing we can control: ourselves ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. serenasinclair says:

    I moved home this year to help take care of my mom with Alzheimer’s. I feel like it’s consumed almost my entire being. I feel defeated at the end of most everyday. Now that we are moving out I feel a light at the end of the tunnel and I feel like I’m so anxious to just get out. Everyone else is always asking me how my mom will do without me though, and my head always thinks, but you don’t understand how I’M doing. It’s hard to get perspective on this and know what’s the right choice. I fear when I’ve moved I may regret leaving my mom, but currently I feel like I must for my own mental health. It’s tough to know what the right thing to do is!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Disco Lemonade says:

      I moved home two years ago because I wanted to be close to my family too. I was worried because my mama is getting older and I realized that time is more valuable sometimes than experience.

      It’s very hard to know what to do, but I’ve learned in this year more than any other year to follow your heart because it knows exactly what’s right for you. You don’t need anyone else’s approval to live your life, you just need your own. You will always know it by how it feels!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

