A Path with Heart

“Before you embark on any path ask the question: Does this path have a heart? If the answer is no, you will know it, and then you must choose another path.” – Carlos Castaneda

I was caught between staying and going again, sullen after the last breakup, no acceptance letter from any of the grad schools and being caught here with no purpose. I thought of any exit plan: teaching English in Colombia in the winter, move to Miami in the fall, live in a hostel in New York in the fall. It felt like I was succumbing to the death of my soul. Stark madness flowing through my body: there has to be a way out! Suddenly it dawned on me, if nothing is working out, maybe I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be but I just haven’t found my purpose here yet. Then I found it, the place where imagination and reality collide along the trails of synchronicity and serendipity.

I’ve realized in these moments that what they say is true: You will know it by the way it feels.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Path with Heart

Leave a Reply

