Shining Star by Nneka

I’m actually surprised I haven’t written about this song yet, but enough time has passed that it’s about time!

“You’re my peace of mind…”

That time we drove the rental out into the Oregon back woods, ‘where are we going?’, ‘does it matter?’, that little path we found to the creek, you looked like you were fishing upstream walking barefoot on those cold creek stones, I looked like I was drowning -terrified I might be, we crawl through the moss, you look like a real nature warrior, ‘does it look like this where you’re from?’, ‘no, does it look like this where you’re from?’, ‘no,’

“I pray my love will give you life…”

That Broadway bathroom, I can still see the trees, feel the breeze of that first June summer air, that plush green lawn, we sang together each and every shower, and I still only think of you every time I hear this song,

“You’re my shining star…”

Leave a Reply

