A Memory from the Memory Bank

This famous Russian poet, Yuvgheni Yuvtushenko, came to our lecture in college. He was from the Beat Generation, my favourite literary movement! Well, he was good friends with Alan Ginsberg, my favourite poet. So I go up to him after class and I ask him about his time with Ginsberg. He told me that Ginsberg called him while he was visiting New York and wanted to see him and for whatever reason Yuvgheni was too busy. Well, shortly after Ginsberg dies and Yuvgheni now carries this guilt with him for never seeing him when he reached out. Then he looks me square in the eyes and said, “It taught me something and make sure you don’t make the same mistake in your life, if you love somebody, make time for them because you never know how much they have.”

2 thoughts on “A Memory from the Memory Bank

    • Disco Lemonade says:

      Thank you ^_^ I absolutely adore this memory because it felt like a direct link to Ginsberg. My friends and I went to a photography show of his in San Francisco 4 years ago and there was a photo of Yuvgheni. It made me feel reconnected to it all again in these moments. So when I signed the guestbook, I signed this memory <333

      Like

Leave a Reply

