There is a Cat Next Door

There is a cat next door that keeps meowing at my window. She stares at me as tho she knows me. There is a cat next door with olive green eyes. The same eyes I’ve only seen in Egypt. There is a cat next door which I’m pretty sure knows me. A friend from Egypt told me, “It is custom to our culture, that if a cat or dog hangs around you, it is because they know you from a previous life.” I could say the same about people. There is a cat next door that comes and goes as she pleases, but always returns to that which she belongs. She reminds me that everything I do and everywhere I am is exactly where I belong.

Leave a Reply

